Assembly election 2022: Sinn Fein’s Gerry Kelly and Caral Ni Chuilin first elected in north Belfast

Sinn Fein’s Gerry Kelly and Caral Ni Chuilin have been elected as MLAs for the north Belfast constituency.

he quota required for election was 7,672 based on a total valid ballot count of 46,027.

Mr Kelly received 8,395 votes and Ms Ni Chuilin received 7,932 votes, securing a return to Stormont for the two Sinn Fein stalwarts.

There were expectations Ms Ni Chuilin’s seat was at risk, but she proved those predictions wrong.

It was a strong showing for the DUP on the first count, with Philip Brett receiving 6,329 votes and Brian Kingston receiving 4,844.

Next was Alliance’s Nuala McAllister who got 4,381 votes and the TUV’s Ron McDowell secured 3,335.

The UUP’s Julie-Anne Corr-Johnston received 2,643 votes and the Green’s Mal O’Hara, 1,446.

Leave a Comment